BackNews Article

Invitation for Public Comments for ATS

September 26, 2015

Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary (South Hamilton, MA) will undergo a comprehensive evaluation visit on November 8th, 2015, by a team representing The Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada.

More than 270 graduate schools of theology in the United States and Canada form The Association of Theological Schools. The Commission on Accrediting of ATS accredits institutions and approves degree programs offered by accredited schools. The mission of ATS is to promote the improvement and enhancement of theological schools to the benefit of communities of faith and the broader public. The Commission is recognized by the United States Secretary of Education and by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

Gordon-Conwell has been accredited by the Commission since 1976 and was last reviewed in 2005. Its accreditation by The Association of Theological Schools encompasses the entire institution.

For the past year and a half, Gordon-Conwell has been engaged in a process of self-study, addressing the Commission’s Standards for Accreditation. An evaluation team will visit the institution to gather evidence that the self-study is thorough and accurate. The team will recommend to the Commission a continuing status for the institution. Following a review process, the Commission itself will take the final action.

The public is invited to submit comments regarding the institution to:
    The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the     
    United States and Canada
    10 Summit Park Drive
    Pittsburgh, PA 15275, USA
    Telephone: 412-788-6505; Fax: 412-788-6510

Public Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution. The Commission cannot settle disputes between individuals and institutions, whether those involve faculty, students, administrators, or members of other groups. Comments will not be treated as confidential and must include name, address, and telephone number of the person providing the comments.

Public Comments must be received by November 11th, 2015. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments received after that date will be considered.